FanPost

Can you pull the catcher and put him in the infield?

Me and my friend have been going back and forth about this possible play. Here is the situation:

                              You are the away team with two outs in the bottom of the ninth. Bases are loaded and it is a full count. Are you allowed to pull the catcher and put him in the infield as a fifth infielder? If I am correct due to a runner on first you don't have to worry about a dropped third strike. You see managers pull an outfielder and put him in the infield all the time but never do they pull a catcher. Is there a rule that I have missed that does not allow the catcher to be put in the infield? I'm sure the home-plate umpire wouldn't like it but what do you think. is it against rules?

This Fan-Post is authored by an independent fan. Tell us what you think and how you feel.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Halos Heaven

You must be a member of Halos Heaven to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Halos Heaven. You should read them.

Join Halos Heaven

You must be a member of Halos Heaven to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Halos Heaven. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9351_tracker