25 for 25: Angels

I'm actually a St. Louis Cardinals fan, but over the past few months I've been working on a roster for each franchise in the majors, composed of players over the last 25 years. The way this works is that I pick one player from each season and I have to fill out an entire roster (for AL teams, 2 catchers, 2 infielders at each position, 5 total outfielders, one designated hitter, 5 starting pitchers, 4 relievers). I can't take more than one player for each year, I have to take one player each season even in the bad years, and I can't use the same player for multiple positions or years. If a player played the majority of his games at one position, I can't use that season for another position even if he's played it before. And I used basic minimums of 60 innings or 250 PA's (prorated for strike seasons). I primarily utilized WAR from Baseball-Reference (Fangraphs numbers only go back to 2002), WARP1 from Baseball Prospectus, Win Shares, and OPS+/ERA+ to determine season value.

The interesting part with this are the decisions that have to be made, whether it is, "Dang, there are some really nice outfielder seasons to choose from, who gets left out?", or, "Does this team even have two decent catchers in a 25-year span?", or, "This guy had so many great years - which one do I choose?" Sometimes a great year gets left out, sometimes a fluke, partial season gets tabbed for the team. I actually posted a fully researched extended version for the Cardinals from 1910 to 1934. The NL versions for this era are there as well (linky, linky, linky, linky).

You're welcome to pick apart my choices and make suggestions of your own. I'm looking forward to hearing from everybody.

C – Bob Boone (1988), Lance Parrish (1990)

1B – Wally Joyner (1987), Mark Teixiera (2008)

2B – Randy Velarde (1999), Adam Kennedy (2003)

3B – Troy Glaus (2001), Chone Figgins (2009)

SS – David Eckstein (2002), Orlando Cabrera (2007)

OF – Gary Pettis (1986), Tim Salmon (1995), Jim Edmonds (1997), Darin Erstad (2000), Vladimir Guerrero (2004)

DH – Chili Davis (1994)

SP – Bert Blyleven (1989), Jim Abbott (1991), Mark Langston (1993), Chuck Finley (1998), John Lackey (2005)

RP – Donnie Moore (1985), Joe Grahe (1992), Troy Percival (1996), Francisco Rodriguez (2006)

Notable exceptions: Dick Schofield (1986), Devon White (1987), Torii Hunter (2009), Mike Witt (1986), Kirk McCaskill (1989), Kelvim Escobar (2007), Ervin Santana (2008), Joe Saunders (2008), Brian Harvey (1991)

This Fan-Post is authored by an independent fan. Tell us what you think and how you feel.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Halos Heaven

You must be a member of Halos Heaven to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Halos Heaven. You should read them.

Join Halos Heaven

You must be a member of Halos Heaven to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Halos Heaven. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.