clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SBN Manager of the Year Awards



SBN American League Manager of the Year

3rd Place: Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim

Scioscia's Angels ran away with the American League West and finished with the best record in the A.L.

2nd Place: Ron Gardenhire, Minnesota Twins

Gardenhire almost always has his team competing, despite some questionable roster moves this past off-season.

Winner: Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays

A 31game turn around and the American League East title was enough to gain Maddon a unanimous victory. Some of the credit should also go to the Rays front office.

Also receiving substantial votes: Cito Gaston, Trey Hillman, and Terry Francona.



SBN National League Manager of the Year

3rd Place: Joe Torre, Los Angeles Dodgers

The legend of Joe Torre's fabled magic touch will continue to grow.

2nd Place: Charlie Manuel, Philadelphia Phillies

The other NLCS manager, Manuel doesn't get a ton of attention for the job he does.

Winner: Lou Piniella, Chicago Cubs

In his second season as Cubs manager Piniella yet again lead his team to the post-season only to fall short.

Also receiving substantial votes: Fredi Gonzalez, Ned Yost,  and Tony La Russa.

Votes 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Maddon 13 1 68
Francona 3 2 11
Scioscia 3 4 13
Gardenhire 6 3 21
Gaston 3 3
Guillen 1 2 7
Hillman 1 3


Votes 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Torre 2 2 2 18
Piniella 9 4 2 59
Manuel 2 4 5 27
Cooper 1 2 5
La Russa 2 10
Yost 3 1 10
Acta 1 5
Svuem 1 1 4
Gonzalez 1 2 3 14


Points: 5*1st + 3*2nd + 3rd = total