clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Blyleven Makes SBN's HOF Cut

SBN held a mock Hall of Fame vote. We followed the same rules that the old ladies at the BBWAA, meaning an elibgible player on the ballot only made the Hall if he received more than 75% of the vote. Two bloggers from each blog were invited to participate and most blogs complied with this number. HERE ARE THE SBN VOTING RESULTS.

Myself and Matt Welch each submitted a ballot on behalf of Halos Heaven. Matt's ballot named more players than mine did. I will leave it to Matt to discuss his selections. I voted for Bert, Larkin, Raines and Trammel. I held off on Alomar as I don't see him as a "first ballot" selection.

Bert Blyleven made the cut. Roberto Alomar was one vote short. Results are after the jump...

Player td> % Vote Total Votes
Bert Blyleven 92.3% 48
Roberto Alomar 73.1% 38
Barry Larkin 63.5% 33
Tim Raines 53.8% 28
Mark McGwire 51.9% 27
Edgar Martinez 48.1% 25
Alan Trammell 40.4% 21
Andre Dawson 32.7% 17
Lee Smith 26.9% 14
Fred McGriff 25.0% 13
Dale Murphy 17.3% 9
Jack Morris 13.5% 7
Don Mattingly 11.5% 6
Harold Baines 7.7% 4
Dave Parker 3.8% 2
Kevin Appier 3.8% 2
Ellis Burks 1.9% 1
Ray Lankford 1.9% 1
Shane Reynolds 1.9% 1
Not receiving votes: Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, David Segui, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile