clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mike Trout wins an MVP award - but not the one you think

The “Internet” Baseball Writers Association of American (IBWAA) selected Mike Trout as MVP

MLB: Los Angeles Angels at Texas Rangers Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

If you write about baseball on the Internet, you can join the IBWAA (as I did). Nearly 500 members voted a few weeks back and their results for MVP were pretty spot on. There are some members from the BBWAA included in that list, but for the most part it’s a different voted pool.

Since the IBWAA has not yet posted the results to their web site, I’ve included their email at the end of this post.

If you were paying attention yesterday, you saw Kate Upton’s reaction upon learning her boyfriend Justin Verlander didn’t even show up on the ballot from two voters. What I find fascinating about the IBWAA vote is that Mike Trout didn’t appear on FIVE ballots out of 176. Really? Who are those 5 douche bags who couldn’t even give him 10th place in the voting?

Read all the voting results below and revel in what may be possibly the only MVP award Mike Trout will receive in 2016.



Los Angeles – The Internet Baseball Writers Association of America (IBWAA) announced the winners in its Most Valuable Player category Thursday, with the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim’s Mike Trout winning the group’s American League award, and Kris Bryant, of the Chicago Cubs, being selected in the National League.

Trout received 109 first-place votes (61.93%) and 1981 points while being named on 171 of 176 ballots (96.61%). Others receiving first-place votes include Mookie Betts (42), Jose Altuve (11), David Ortiz (10) and Josh Donaldson (2).

Bryant received 145 first-place votes (81.92%) and 2293 points while being named on 176 of 177 (99.44%) ballots. Others receiving first-place votes include Daniel Murphy (14), Nolan Arenado (10), Anthony Rizzo (4) and Corey Seager (3).

Election results are as follows:


1st Place: Mike Trout, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – 1981 points

2nd Place: Mookie Betts, Boston Red Sox – 1686

3rd Place: Jose Altuve, Houston Astros – 1350

4th Place: Josh Donaldson, Toronto Blue Jays – 1027

5th Place: Manny Machado, Baltimore Orioles – 768

6th Place: David Ortiz, Boston Red Sox – 733

7th Place: Robinson Cano, Seattle Mariners – 481

8th Place: Adrian Beltre, Texas Rangers – 447

9th Place: Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers – 327

10th Place: Brian Dozier, Minnesota Twins – 260


1st Place: Kris Bryant, Chicago Cubs – 2293 points

2nd Place: Daniel Murphy, Washington Nationals – 1269

3rd Place: Corey Seager, Los Angeles Dodgers – 1258

4th Place: Nolan Arenado, Colorado Rockies – 1106

5th Place: Anthony Rizzo, Chicago Cubs – 1079

6th Place: Freddie Freeman, Atlanta Braves – 776

7th Place: Joey Votto, Cincinnati Reds – 536

8th Place: Yoenis Cespedes, New York Mets – 249

9th Place: Justin Turner, Los Angeles Dodgers – 215

10th Place: Paul Goldschmidt, Arizona Diamondbacks – 214

Ballot tabulations by Brian Wittig & Associates, using the Borda Method.

The IBWAA was established July 4, 2009 to organize and promote the growing online baseball media, and to serve as a digital alternative to the Baseball Writers’ Association of America (BBWAA). Voting for full season awards takes place in September of each year, with selections being announced in November. The IBWAA also holds a Hall of Fame election in December of each year, with results being announced the following January.

Among approximately 460 others, IBWAA members include Jim Bowden, Jim Caple, Schoenfield and Mark A. Simon of; Tim Brown, Yahoo! Sports; Craig Calcaterra, NBC Sports Hardball Talk; Bill Chuck,; Derrick Goold, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Jon Heyman, Today’s Knuckleball; Danny Knobler, Bleacher Report; Kevin Kennedy; Kostya Kennedy, Sports Illustrated; Will Leitch, Sports on Earth; Bruce Markusen, Hardball Times; Ross Newhan; Dayn Perry and Matt Snyder,; Tom Hoffarth and J.P. Hoornstra Los Angeles Daily News; Pedro Moura, Los Angeles Times; Tracy Ringolsby,; Ken Rosenthal,; Eno Sarris, FanGraphs; Jesse Spector, Sporting News, and Bill Arnold.

Association membership is open to any and all Internet baseball writers, with a lifetime fee of $75. Discounts for groups and scholarships are available. Members must be 18 years of age to apply.

Reminder: The IBWAA is distinct from the BBWAA, which will announce the official MVP winners on the MLB Network at 3:00 p.m. PT today.

For more information please visit


Howard Cole
Founding Director, IBWAA